Home Campus voice AISF wins the top post; surprise comeback by ABVP

AISF wins the top post; surprise comeback by ABVP


New Delhi: The student wing of CPI, All India Student’s Federation (AISF) wins the Presidential post at the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union (JNUSU) elections while Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) made a comeback after 4 years by winning the Joint Secretary Post. Radical – Left All India Students Association (AISA) grabbed 2 posts, the post of General Secretary and Vice President. The Chief Election Commissioner of JNUSU, Mr. Praveen Thallapelli said “Kanhiya Kumar of AISF won the race of Presidential post by securing a total of 1029 votes defeating AISA’s Vijay Kumar by a a margin of just 67 votes.” Inspite of losing the Presidential Post, AISA’s Shehla Rashid Shora and Rama Naga won the post of Vice President & General Secretary respectively.

BJP backed ABVP returned in the Union after 14 years with its candidate Saurabh Kumar Sharma winning the post of Joint Secretary by a margin of 27 votes against AISA’s Hamid Raza. The JNUSU Elections are a dramatic yearly affair known for strong ideological leanings, colourful campaigning and rousing speeches.