Home Campus voice Clean sweep by ABVP @ DUSU

Clean sweep by ABVP @ DUSU


New Delhi: Yet another year and a clean sweep. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad has bagged all the four posts second year in a row at the DUSU elections with a margin of over 4,500 votes on each seat. National Students of India (NSUI) came second and Chattra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) came third. Satender Awana was elected as the President of DUSU whereas Sunny Dedha won the post of Vice-President. Anjali Rana and Chhattarpal Yadav have been elected as Secretary and Joint Secretary respectively.

The Chief Election Officer Mr.DS Rawat said that the voting Process had been smooth and incident free. He further added that Mr. Awana defeated Pradeep Vijayran of NSUI with a margin of 20,439 votes while Mr.Dedha defeated Garima Rana of CYSS by a margin of 7,570 votes. Students claim that social media was very well utilized in this election. Parties heavily campaigned through Facebook, Whattsapp & Twitter to reach out to students community. Several BJP Leaders took on to twitter to congratulate ABVP. BJP National President Amit Shah tweeted “Heartiest Congratulations to all Parishad Karyakartas on clean sweep in DUSU polls. A victory of ideology #ABVPRocks”.

Many issues were highlighted by various parties which included their stand on the Choice Based Credit System (CBCS), Room Rent Control Act, Accommodation for all Students, Opening of new colleges and infrastructural development among others.